Gekokujou | Update

Hey guys. I wanted to do a picture post since I haven’t done any in awhile.

Homer Simpson modeling the obi

Side view of obi

Origami Kusudama flower for hair ornament

Painting the paper over with clear nail polish

Tabi socks

Tabi socks + Geta

So let’s start out with the obi. It’s really, really long. [ 3 1/2 yds. ] If you’re making one, I suggest using that length or longer if you want to make sure it’s good enough. I learned how to tie it by watching this YouTube video, but since you can’t really tie it on by yourself, I couldn’t take a picture of me wearing it. For the hair ornament, I thought the kusudama flower would look really nice as a hair pin for the Gekokujou cosplays, so I made the flowers with the colors light blue and pink to match Miku and Luka’s colors. Ichigo made some hair barrettes, so we’ll have that and this. I bought the tabi socks from a great website called Sock Dreams! I’ve bought from them twice, and both times have been great. They have free shipping inside the US & I got my package in 3 days. [ From Portland to New York ] I bought the geta after Ichigo found a gift store in Chinatown called Ting’s Gift Store that sold them, and they carry antique items, so i’m not sure if they restock geta.

I’m so excited for Sakura Matsuri, I haven’t cosplayed at an event for 8 months now. So, I’m also kind of nervous because it’s been over half a year. The most important thing is to have fun though, and I think we will!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

